IKGPTU appointed an Advisory Committee for its top research centre Sri Guru Nanak Dev Ji Chair

  • Dr. Sarbjinder Singh, a well-known personality in religious studies, will be the chairman
  • Jalandhar/Kapurthala/Chandigarh : With the aim of getting better research work on the most respected Sri Guru Nanak Dev Ji Chair for research established at I.K.Gujral Punjab Technical University (IKGPTU), the University Management has appointed an advisory committee. Dr. Sarbjinder Singh, a well-known personality in religious studies, will be the chairman of this advisory committee. He is currently working as Dean Faculty, Humanities and Religious Studies at Guru Nanak Dev University (GNDU), Sri Amritsar Sahib. He is also the Chair Professor of Sant Baba Prem Singh Ji Murale. Since the University is established in Kapurthala district and this earth (Sultanpur Lodhi) is associated with the life of Sri Guru Nanak Dev Ji, keeping in view, the Sri Guru Nanak Dev Ji Chair was established at IKGPTU by the Government of Punjab. The goal of the Chair is to connect the younger generation with subjects like religion, culture, knowledge and concerns of the social generation and inspire them to study and research.

    The other members of the Advisory Committee of this Chair include Mrs. Gurjot Kaur (Ajit Prakashan Group), Dr. Joga Singh Dean Faculty, Humanities and Languages, Ex. Head Professor, Department of Linguistics and Punjabi Dictionary, Ex. Director Center for Diaspora Studies Punjabi University, Patiala. Apart from this, Dr. Ashish Arora, Dean R&D IKGPTU and Dr. Sarabjit Singh Mann have been appointed as Chair Professor Ex-Officio members.

    IKGPTU Vice Chancellor Sh Rahul Bhandari, IAS, while congratulating all the Advisory Committee members on this appointment expressed confidence that the University will give an opportunity to the Committee to work independently on this subject and he is also confident that the Committee will take up this pious task to do best work in the interest of studies and research. On this occasion, he handed over the notification issued by the University Registrar Dr. SK Mishra to the members.